Do I need to buy all the released updates to begin playing WoW?

If I want to begin to play World of Warcraft, do I need to buy every update released from the beginning?

  • Horde progression through the new Azeroth
  • How does Boss HP scaling in flexible raids work?
  • Do I need to buy all the released updates to begin playing WoW?
  • How accurate is simcraft?
  • Need a new questline
  • Is there lore behind the difference between the brown and green orcs of Warcraft?
  • Where can I learn to fly in Pandaria?
  • How can I earn lots of gold?
  • What Horde race is better for a priest?
  • Proving that a WoW character is really owned by the one who claims to be the owner
  • The new Lich King
  • Do I need the original discs to install WoW on a new computer?
  • 5 Solutions collect form web for “Do I need to buy all the released updates to begin playing WoW?”

    TL;DR Version:
    You can buy:

    • A subscription, giving access to everything up to and including Mists of Pandaria;
    • The newest expansion, Warlords of Draenor, which is sold seperately.

    But use the Trial Version first!
    First, I’d download the trial and make sure that you would enjoy the game. If you enjoy the trial and continue playing, read on…

    What’s included to all subscribers:

    • The Burning Crusade and Wrath of the Lich King (since 2012-09-19);
    • Cataclysm (since 2013-10-13);
    • Mists of Pandaria (since 2014-10-15).

    Note that all Races are available to all players, even trial accounts.

    These expansions will give you:

    • World of Warcraft (plus Burning Crusade): levels 1-70 content (Azeroth and Outland), flying in Outland, plus all other basic features rolled into the game since launch (revamped talents, guild levels, etc)
    • Wrath of the Lich King: levels 68-80 content (Northrend), hero class (Death Knight), flying in Northrend, new profession: Inscription
    • Cataclysm: levels 80-85 content (Azeroth), flying in Azeroth (note, you don’t have to be 80+ to fly in Azeroth, only own the expansion), Archeology (new profession)
    • Mists of Pandaria: levels 85-90 content (Pandaria), new class (Monk).
    • Warlords of Draenor: levels 90-100 content (Draenor), Garrisons (new feature)

    You only need the core game to start playing. This gives you access to the 8 original races (No Draenei, Blood Elves, Worgen, or Goblins), and 9 original classes (No Death Knights), and a level cap of 60.

    To reach level 70, you will need The Burning Crusade, level 80 requires Wrath of the Lich King, and Cataclysm unlocks level 85. Each subsequent expansion requires that you have the prior ones. It is not possible to install Cataclysm without Wrath, or Wrath without Burning Crusade.

    If you’re aiming for raids and top level content, I advise you to buy all the expansions from the beginning.

    If you want to explore the world with your friends, you could play 2-6 months just in the basic game (World of Warcraft). There are interesting places and plenty of content, even for low level characters. I think there was a sale a while ago: World of Warcraft, The Burning Crusade and Wrath of the Lich King for 20 Euros, you could try to wait for another one.

    I HIGHLY recommend getting the trial before committing to all the games. It’s true that you won’t be able to play a Worgen, Goblin, Blood Elf, or Draenai right off the bat, but it’s better than shelling out the cash for all the games and realizing 2 days in that the game really isn’t for you.

    Even though WoW is extremely popular, it’s an acquired taste. If you’ve never played it or don’t know very much about it, you’re better off getting the trial.

    If you enjoy the trial, I recommend going to the store (or on Amazon) and purchasing the hard copy of World of Warcraft & World of Warcraft Burning Crusade. It comes in a bundle pack with both the games and I think it costs somewhere around $20. If you buy each separately, then it’ll cost more. I don’t think there are bundles with Wrath of the Lich King and Cataclysm.

    It’s also important to note that you can’t play an expansion without the previous expansion. Here are the releases in order:
    World of Warcraft
    World of Warcraft: Burning Crusade
    World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King
    World of Warcraft: Cataclysm

    As of Oct 2014, all expansions except for the latest one (Warlords of Draenor) are free with the purchase of the base-game.

    You only need Warlords of Draenor to reach the very end-game content, after level-90. However, note that the purchase of Warlords of Draenor includes a powerup to boost a single character to level 90 instantly.


    We love Playing Games, especially Video Games.